My DH

If you have looked at message boards, forums, or blogs on the areas of homemaking and child rearing, you have likely seen the same abbreviations that I have: DS, DD, DH, SAHM to list a few.  In my usual exhausted stupor of a small child, I read over these abbreviations.  I finally realized they were abbreviations for members of the family or self–Dear Son, Dear Daughter, Dear Husband, Stay-at-Home Mom.  However, DH stuck out to me and the only thing my mind would bring to the front was, “Designated Hitter.”

I am not a huge baseball fan–in fact, before I wrote this post, I did not actually know the rules about Designated Hitting (nor do I completely understand them now, but if you’d like the tutorial I had, you can go here).  Here is what I did know about the designated hitter (now, a die-hard baseball fan can probably still correct some of my facts, but for the sake of my post, just let me live in my fantasy world!).  He hits the ball!  He is better at hitting the ball than other people on the team!  In fact, he is so much better, he goes to bat in place of another player whose hitting is not as strong. He kind of  “takes one for the team” in that he doesn’t get to routinely play a field position, but I did learn that he is probably a pretty versatile player in that he can replace fielders as well.  He is a man of many talents!

This is my husband–he’s my DH!  My designated hitter!!  He goes to bat for me!  He is strong in areas where I am weak and he makes up the difference.  Never afraid to step up to the plate and take a swing, he is also my most versatile team player–he can play any position–chef, maid, chauffeur, doctor, shopper, kids’ playmate, breadwinner–you name it and he is our team VIP!!  I am so thankful to have a husband who is at the ready to take one for our team and help out where we need him most!  That is why I so LOVE my “DH!”

What do you think about your DH?  Encourage me and others by singing your husband’s praises in the comments section!!  Better yet, praise the Lord for your husband and then go tell him how much you appreciate him!!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lambler on August 6, 2011 at 6:11 pm

    Great post!
    I definitely couldn’t live without my DH. Besides the running joke between us that I’d never eat or sleep without him (left to myself, I forget to do such things…), he’s simply my best friend — my confidant, my encourager, my supporter (financially, emotionally, spiritually, etc), my listener, my answerer…and so on and so on.
    I thank the Lord constantly for my dear husband!

    Reply

  2. Posted by lambler on August 6, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    Oh, and he’s a fantastic dad and can hold his own in the kitchen 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

