Can We Make It?? Yes, We Can!

My almost-3-year-old son LOVES to make things!  He loves to cook, craft, build with blocks–anything.  He heard the line from Bob the Builder, “Can we build it?” so now, anytime he wants to do a craft, he will yell, “Can we make it??!! YES, WE CAN!!!”  Usually, the final words are emphasized with raised hands and a grin the size of a small country!

A little over a year ago, I mentioned to a friend that I was getting craft supplies to make a fall tree with my son (he was almost 2).  She thought that I had spoken mistakenly and asked, “You mean you are going to make a tree FOR your son?”  After assuring her that he would be helping me, she was flabbergasted.  “He is a toddler, what kind of crafts can he do?”  It was my turn to be flabbergasted!!

Crafting has been a part of my life for as long as I can remember.   My son’s first craft was a crude hand print turkey–he was all of 3 weeks old and I was scared to death that the crayon would make his little hand break out. (It did not, I am happy to report).  So it is no surprise that since he was able to say it, he has been asking to make things.  Before the Bob the Builder line, he used to say, “We can make that.”  It was somewhere between a request, question, and statement all in one.  And he was usually right!  We have so much fun with paper, scissors, felt, and trash.

I have decided to do a blog series on crafting with your kids.  I am very excited about it!  The series will start with a tutorial and then get into several actual crafts that you and your kids can do together!  I will try to adjust the crafts to cover multiple age groups. I look forward to feedback,  suggestions, pictures, and your expertise or what has worked best for you.

So, be on the lookout for the series, “We Can Make That!”

Leave a Reply

