Family Table: Twice Baked Potatoes

I made twice baked potatoes for the first time this weekend. The entire process left me thinking that it was not worth the extra effort and that there was no way this could taste that much better than a regular baked potato. But, I am happy to report that I was wrong! They were delicious!! I combined a few recipes. Here is how I made mine.

TWICE BAKED POTATOES

*3 large baking potatoes
*2 Tbls. purple onion, finely diced
*3 Tbls. butter
*1/4 cup milk
*Salt & pepper to taste
*Garlic powder to taste
*2 sliced bacon, cooked & chopped (or 2 Tbls. real bacon pieces)
* 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Wash each potato and rub the skin with a little bit of cooking oil or butter to keep it soft. Bake potatoes about 50 minutes. Cut each potato in half and scoop out the insides with an ice cream spoon. Put potato “meat” into a large bowl–save the skins!! Add the other ingredients and mash potatoes. I left my potatoes chunky but they can be beaten with a mixer to make smooth and creamy. Spoon potato mixture back into potato skins and bake again for 15 minutes.

A variation is to bake 1 extra potato and mash that one skin and all. This gives you pieces of skin and more “meat” in each potato skin. (Although, I would never serve these to my mother who thinks leaving skin in the mashed potatoes is a sign of laziness!) 🙂

What is your favorite variation on the classic baked tater??

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by lambler on October 3, 2011 at 11:18 pm

    I made twice-baked potatoes a couple years ago, and I do remember it being quit the ordeal. But they were yummy! I love the idea of bacon! I’ll have to try that.
    Thanks for sharing

    Reply

Leave a Reply

